30 in 30: Day 3 No It Isn’t Water

Day 3 and still a little behind.  Have to wait for those layers to dry.  I have learned more about transparent, translucent, semi-opaque and opaque paints.  I learned I need to look at what I am painting with so I can get a desired result.  Normally, I just paint and spend some time overworking parts of a painting that give me problems.

Oh BTW, I am working on 6 pieces at a time.

This painting is for a class I am taking and I will go more in detail a bit later.  The instructor is using zebra board.  I used zebra wood in college and decided to imitate the woodgrain on a panel I have.  First I used gray gesso with white gesso streaked across.

Impasto Tech Stage 1A

Impasto Tech Stage 1A

In step 2 I used a combination of Titian Buff, Zinc White and Raw Sienna glazed over the gesso.

Impasto Tech Stage 1b

Impasto Tech Stage 1b

In Step 3, I used a dagger brush along with a dry bristle brush to make the “grain”. I used Burnt Sienna, and Raw Sienna glazes in this stage. Not discouraged but both my Mom and my husband think it looks like water.

Impasto Tech Stage 1CA

Impasto Tech Stage 1CA

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Art, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment