Sep 2018 30n30: Moonlit Waterfall

A not so 10 minute painting!

Moonlit Landscape

Moonlit Waterfall Acrylic on Gallery Wrapped Canvas 6″ x 8″ Suzan Hughes-Kennedy

 

Since I am both a worship artist and a prophetic artist at Emmanuel Fellowship Church, I find that painting quickly is essential on those Sundays I find myself “on deck” as we call it.  You can imagine painting on a 22″ x 28″ canvas during two 45 minute worship services can be quite daunting.  I am always on the look out for tips to help me paint quickly.

On one of my searches on YouTube I discovered Ryan O’Rourke and his 10 minute painting lessons.  I enjoy watching his videos as I am walking on my treadmill.  His Moonlit Waterfall Landscape lesson is one I actually decided to try and paint.  I took notes and here are some of the things I learned:

I used the paints I normally use.  His palette included(I took my notes from his video)

Liquitex’s

  • Primary Blue
  • Primary Yellow
  • Burnt Umber
  • Mars Black
  • Titanium White

My palette consisted of

Winsor Newton’s

  • Ultramarine Blue
  • Cobalt Blue
  • Cadmium Yellow Pale Hue,
  • Titanium White

Golden’s

  • Burnt Umber

Liquitex’s Heavy Body

  • Mars Black

I tried to follow along with his video for my time table and I am embarrassed to say his 10 minute painting took this artist a total of 54 minutes and probably a bit more.  I did this last spring and my notes are just a wee bit old.  However since I just glazed the painting, I am using it for my final 30 N 30 painting.

The brushes I used:

  • Large Square Brush
  • Medium Square Brush
  • Small Square Brush
  • Small Round Brush

My timed segments were:

  • 15 min
  • 60 min
  • 30 min
  • 30 min
  • 54 min

For a Grand Total of 189 minutes for my 10 minute painting.  I have to admit part of my problem was seeing exactly what he was painting.  For instance, it was difficult for me to see the sketched rocks.  I also had to figure out some of the things he knows instinctively how to paint.

I thoroughly enjoy watching him and will continue to do so.  He has changed his channel to Stay Creative from 10 Minute Paintings.  You can also become a Patreon for a nominal fee.  I applaud him for his growth and for his dedication to share his knowledge through his channel.

His use of Mars Black intrigues me and I did like using it in this painting.  I don’t use Liquitex student grade paints for a variety of reasons but I suspect my painting would have gone quicker had I been using a thinner paint.  All in all I give Ryan O’Rouke a thumbs up as Siskel and Ebert used to say in their reviews of movies.

 


Be sure to check out the other participating artists at:

September 2018 30 N 30 Blog

 

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Acrylics, Art, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment