The Thin Red Line

red white blue abstract painting

The Thin Red Line 22″ x 28 ” Acrylic on Gallery Wrapped Canvas ©2017Suzan Hughes-Kennedy

During my time as worship artist in June (Father’s Day), I played with application of the paint.  I premixed my blues and several shades of red.  Beginning with the light blue at the top, I applied more blues liberally as I moved from top to bottom.  I sprayed the paint with water using a downward motion trying to guide the droplets of water as I continued adding more paint.  Shades of red were added with copper towards the end of the painting in both services.  I didn’t have to do much tweaking once it was home.

Even though it was Father’s Day, I was thinking of the many sacrifices made for our freedom.  This includes Jesus’ sacrifice for us.  The red stands for those sacrifices and how fragile our freedom is in this world. It provides the barrier between us and evil.  How easy it is to forget and take this gift for granted.  I thank God for all those who sacrificed so much for me to have the life I have today.  I especially thank Him for His Son, Jesus, who has both saved my soul and healed me.

Happy Fourth of July!

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

