Brushwork from Pen & Ink – Jan 7, 11, &12 2017

Painting everyday.  Large paintings remain works in progress.  In my ornament series, I am using wooden cutouts I have collected over the years.  Today’s work stem from a wooden bird cutout which reminds me of the sparrows and wrens in my yard.  I did a pen and ink before I did the brushwork on the cutout.

Step 1: I traced the cutout in my sketchbook.  Decorated with Prismacolor Ink Pens.

Decorative Bird

Pen and Ink on Paper
Bird
NFS

Step II:  Using thinned black acrylic paint and a liner brush, I painted the gessoed wooden cutout.

Decorative Bird Ornament in Black and White

Decorative Bird
Hand painted
Wooden Ornament
NFS

Step III:  The bird looked lonely on the page so I attempted to add a background.  In black and white, I went really too far.  It was so busy and there wasn’t a rest for the eye.  I added color to bring the bird back to the foreground.  I like it better but I am glad it is in my sketchbook and not out there to be framed.  lol

Decorative Pen and Ink Bird

Pen and Ink on Paper
Bird
NFS

Check out the other artists participating in the challenge at:  https://www.saetastudio.com/30-in-30-blog

 

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Acrylics, Art, Drawing, Pen & Ink and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

