Snowman in Watercolor – Jan 3, 2017

The computer and I seem to be cordial to one another today – just as long as I don’t try to upload a large file.  Hoping I didn’t shrink these pics too much.

One of the classes I am taking right now is in watercolor taught by Nathalie Kelley at WTC’s College on the Square in Snyder, Texas.  She is a wonderful teacher and talented artist.  (You can check out her work at https://www.facebook.com/NathalieKelleysArt or http://nathaliekelleyart.com/home.html.)  I have not worked in watercolor in years and only have done so in workshops.  I thought working in a class with other artists and in a medium I am not comfortable with might shake me up a bit.  Mission has been successful.

I chose to do something non threatening and fun – a Snowman!  Hats off to all those watercolor artists out there.  The friskit application alone is tedious and you can tell from my snowflakes, I am definitely not an expert.  However, I have had fun and I have enjoyed working in a studio atmosphere with other artists.  I am going again next week.

Watercolor painting of a snowman

Watercolor Snowman 1
8″ x 10″
NFS

Friskit Removed.  Do you see my mistakes?

Finished Painting of a Snowman in Watercolor

Watercolor Snowman Final
8″ x 10″
NFS

 

Check out the challenge at:  https://www.saetastudio.com/30-in-30-blog

 

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Acrylics, Art, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snowman in Watercolor – Jan 3, 2017

  1. nope, I don’t see any mistakes, I just see an incredible and very fun happy snowman. Love this.
    I’m excited to be in the newest 30in30 too.
    peace,
    CheyAnne

  2. Thank you CheyAnne! I would like to say it is an original but I used another as reference since I was using a new medium. My next watercolor will come from my own photo. I am going to check yours out.

Leave a Reply

