Days 4&5: 30-n-30

Abstract Painting Sun Shower

Sun Shower 28″ x 22″ Acrylic on Gallery Wrapped Canvas Suzan Hughes-Kennedy

Sunday, I decided to play with a painting from worship last month which didn’t get finished and I thought I would gesso over and begin again. It looked like this:

Unfinished Painting

Using the paint left over from that session, I began using my regular small palette knife to apply the paint.  It was so much fun but the knife was so small and I used a lot of additional paint.

I have been wanting to take a class from Leslie Saeta for a very long time and this painting has rekindled that desire to make it sooner than later.  I want to learn to use a palette knife better.  The way I stroked the knife made a big difference and I could cut through the layers of wet paint to create depth and additional colors.  Had to be very careful not to mix too much on the canvas though, I could muddy the colors very easily.

Check out the other artists in the challenge at:

https://www.saetastudio.com/30-in-30-blog

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Art, Learning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

