Day 11: Alizarin Crimson Hue (Sep 2015)

There are some colors on my palette I don’t really understand.  Since my goal for this 30 day challenge is to get to know my paints, I chose to do an audition chart for Alizarin Crimson Hue Heavy Body by Liquitex today.  Thanks to the couple of hours spent on it today and to the guided activity from the DVD Color Mixology, I know Alizarin a lot better.  Now to determine what I want to paint with the knowledge gained from today’s activity.

Here are the fruits of my labor:

Paint Worksheets Alizarin

Alizarin Crimson Hue by Liquitex
Worksheet

Alizarin Crimson Hue Liquitex 2_sm_edited-1

The biggest surprise was that Viridian and Pthalo Green were almost identical. So much so that I think I will only keep one of these colors in my paintbox. The second biggest surprise was the black that the green and Alizarin made when mixed together almost 60 (Alizarin)/ 40 (Green).

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Acrylics, Art, Learning, Painting, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 11: Alizarin Crimson Hue (Sep 2015)

  1. Very interesting work and thanks for the black tip. I have been working with a limited palette for various reasons including the fact that I am still learning and discovering from just these few colours.

  2. Thank you Anne. I sure appreciate it. I was so greedy when I began painting for God and myself. I bought every paint color I could get, I had never even heard of a limited palette but did teach it. lol. I taught grades 6 – 12 art for nearly 20 years and believed I was a sculptor not a painter.

  3. roguesandpark says:

    This is a very interesting experiment! I think I might do something similar!

Leave a Reply

