Neon or Flouresent Paints: To Use or Not To Use

 

The usPicture of tubes of painte of neon and luminous paints have cropped up in several of the demonstrations I have attended recently. I was so excited to use them because of the vibrancy they added to a painting. I was happily adding them to my paintings and decided to order some from one of my favorite suppliers, Dick Blick.

I found that these colors shift with exposure to UV light and are recommended for crafts and temporary forms of art. You know – things that are going to be printed and the original doesn’t matter. I checked Holbein and Golden colors with the same warnings.

Check out this article I found on Golden’s blog Just Paint,  “Fluorescent Colors – Bottling a Shooting Star “by Amy McKinnon.  Here is an excerpt:

“When fluorescents fade they not only lose their power to fluoresce but they also lose their high chroma. They do not all fade similarly nor do they fade to the same degree. When exposed to UV, Yellow goes green, orange goes more yellow and dull, pink goes to a light earthy orange color, green goes very blue and dull, and blue goes much darker. They all get duller and either fade or shift.”

Food for thought, isn’t it? Don’t think I’m going to be using these colors. What should I do with these tubes of paint?

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in Acrylics, Golden, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neon or Flouresent Paints: To Use or Not To Use

  1. Sabiscuit says:

    Thanks for this guide. I have been looking at some, recently but haven’t taken the plunge as yet. If you use them, may I suggest a matte or gloss varnish over to protect them. My plan is to create the paintings and take high resolution photos of them wet and dry to preserve the colour and energy. Best of luck.

  2. Thank you for the reply. I think your plan will work. I am interested in seeing your results. Thanks for the response.

Leave a Reply

