Peace After the Storm

Painting of a West Texas Landscape

Peace After the Storm
22″ x 28″
Acrylic on Gallery Wrapped Canvas

This is finished, sold and has quite a story behind it. I have had a difficult time naming it and decided on Peace After the Storm.

This is the same painting that I called “what a mess” in September. I had a vision which I still intend to paint and was trying my hand at palette knife painting. I really prefer a credit card at this point. I got it home and spent hours working on the sky. I wanted the feeling of very dark clouds moving away from the light of the rising sun. I really want to paint the light as if it were pushing the dark away but that painting is still on the way.

The sky done; it was my turn to paint again at church. I normally don’t take a canvas I have worked on before but just felt I needed to work on this at church. After the first service, a friend came up and said she had to have the painting. I do not have permission to give all the details but it was extremely personal and spoke to her. Of course, I said yes. However, I told her it wasn’t done and she asked what I was I going to add to it. Sunflowers, I said and they were her favorites!

I continued to paint on it during second service. Again, after this service, two more people came up to tell me how much this painting spoke to them. It is so good when I listen to the Holy Spirit. I know I am on track when people respond to the painting.

I learned so much from the process of painting this piece. Learning again on the best use of the transparencies of paint plus using gels and glazes. Oh and I really have to work on painting with lighter colors because acrylics dry darker.

Let me know what you think of it.

Have a nice day and keep working those brushes!

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

