30 Day Challenge: Day 12

Day 12 – Home from Mom’s and I am not behind – Yea!

I sketched from an image on my camera while waiting at the doctor’s office with my Mom.  I recently bought two packs of watercolor markers from the clearance aisle at Michael’s.  I have wanted to try them out for a while.  They are pretty pricey too.  Thought I’d give them a try with some ink.

I am not finished with this sketch but really enjoyed the loose feeling.  I couldn’t control the color and the ink is wherever you touch the pen to paper.  Since I couldn’t really see the details of the image, I focused on the shapes.

Hwy 180 in August #1

Hwy 180 in August #1

Then I decided to do something with harder edges.  I have this thing when I am painting – I can not seem to leave an edge alone.  Well I simply had trouble blending these markers even with a little water.  It didn’t help that I was working on my lab and the lid from my water bottle.  This is what I came up with and I really like it except for the horizon in the center.  The orange marker was very bright and I attempted to cover it up.  I am going to do a painting from this.

Hwy 180 in August

Hwy 180 in August

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

