Business Cards at Vistaprint and Photoshop Elements 11

Monday I worked all day long on my business cards. I wanted to include them in an order for bridal shower invitations I had designed. Working on the invitations with the Vistaprint interface was pretty much a snap. I did learn a lot about Photoshop Elements 11 in the process. Designing the business cards wasn’t as easy. Here are some things I learned.

1. Vistaprint says that the margin which outlines the safe zone area measures 1028 px x 579 px.
2. They also say that the outermost area is 1062 px x 615 px
3. I was designing this border to be the background of my business card in Photoshop Elements 11.

Business Card Border

Business Card Border

4. After much trial and error, I found that for the colored line inside the border to be inside the safe zone, I had to resize the image in Elements to 1125 px x 660 px. Even with that it wasn’t perfect and the dark edge of the border perimeter did not stretch to the outside edge of the card.

5. Each time you get a proof from Vistaprint to see if it will work, it costs you between $1.49 if you order that design and $1.99 if you don’t. This can add up to be quite a bit.

I will have these cards for a long time and they cost quite a bit more than I had anticipated even with the 50% off coupon. The people I talked with during the three times I had to call Vistaprint were wonderful. It is lovely to talk to people in Jamaica anytime. However, since I know that I am not going to go with one of their templates, I will most likely check with a local printer before I finalize my next order with Vistaprint.

It was definitely a learning experience.

About suzanhugheskennedyart

I am a prophetic artist discovering more of God's Grace through the creation of my art. Encouraging and coaching others in developing their own creativity inspires me. Join me in this journey!
This entry was posted in Art, Graphic Design, Learning, Publishing Images, Ratios, Sizes, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

